P.O. Box 245, Seguin, TX 78156

History of the Seguin Conservation Society

The Seguin Conservation Society was officially formed on September 11, 1951. The purpose for these initial meetings of representatives from various civic organizations was to acquire and restore the “Little House” on the corner of South River and Live Oak Streets owned by Dr. Hugh Davis. The first project was completed and later became known as Los Nogales Museum.

Members of the original Board of Directors were D.W. Reneau, Aileen Williams, Elizabeth Schuessler, Henry Donegan Jr., E.W. Bartholomae, Hilda Weinert, Leonie Pape, Raymond Thompson and Willie Mae Weinert. Members of the original project committee were Virginia Woods, Maud Baer, Joe Burgess, Frieda Saegert, Walter Frey, Sue Smith and Clark Core. Many citizens of Seguin, past and present, have generously contributed time, effort and money to the goals of the Society in preserving the history of our community.

The Conservation Society continues many projects to further this preservation endeavor, which include: Moore House Luncheons held the first Thursday of each month, September through June; the City of Seguin Birthday Party held each August at the Campbell Log Cabin; the Heritage Christmas Tour of Homes and, in conjunction with the Chamber of Commerce, True Women tours to our city to visit historical sites noted in the book by Janice Woods Windle.

Throughout the past 50 years the Conservation Society has grown in membership and properties. Membership today totals over 400 with a very active volunteer base. Historic structures owned by the society, in addition to the Los Nogales Museum and Texas Theatre, include the Dietz Doll House, Campbell Log Cabin, The Moore House and Seguin’s First Church. The Conservation Society is committed to public, as well as private, investment in historical sites to be preserved for the knowledge and cultural benefit of present and future citizens of Seguin and the surrounding areas.

Copyright © 2019 Seguin Conservation Society

Board of Directors

Steve Tschoepe, President

Dottsy Dwyer, Vice President

Mary Jane Windle, Interim Secretary

Norma  Colunga, Treasurer


Diane Beeman

Norma Colunga

Michelle Cox

Carol Dubin

Denise Durben

Dottsy Dwyer

Robin Dwyer

Ryan Hopkins

Rebecca Kallies

Marty Keil

Kristy Kirkland

Annie Perry

Gloria Puchot

Jamie Shahack

Linda Williams

Wayne Windle

Janet Wolber

Texas Theatre Management Committee

Steve Tschoepe-Chair

Greg Ander

Hugh Douglas

Pat Hoppe

Don Keil

Marty Keil

Sheila Lucas

Susan Rinn

Toni Winters

The Dietz-Castilla Doll House

Follow us